Hakodate Morning Market – Hakodate, Hokkaido | May 2015

Leave a comment
Japan / Ready Set Go

Starting my day off in Hakodate Morning Market (函館朝市) with seafood and fresh fruits for breakfast. It’s just a few steps away from JR Hakodate Station and Loisir Hotel where I stayed.

I love morning market because it’s a food paradise to me and a dried seafood heaven to my mom. Whole row of stalls and restaurants to choose from. Everything I love can be found here. I think it’s a very good place to try out all those “must try” foods. I had two packs of strawberries and a Yubari Melon. Oh, not forget their fuji apple too. Sweetest and juiciest fruits I ever had. #onlyinJapan

This market portrays a real Hakodate life and should not be missed. Catch the live squid from the blue tank and the chef will prepare squid sashimi on the spot for breakfast sounds really great. I didn’t have a chance to go to any fish market in Japan due to time constraint but I am overwhelmed with the amount of crabs and fishes for sale in here. As much as how I love crab, I didn’t have any crabs because it was only 6am and I didn’t want to upset my tummy.

Perhaps a hot king crab bun and Donburi Yokocho to satisfy my crave? 😀

The Author

Malaysian Interior Design/ Interior Architecture student

Leave a Reply

