Pâtisserie Petit Merveille at Bay – Hakodate, Hokkaido | May 2015

Leave a comment
Japan / JoFoodGuide / Ready Set Go

I dropped by BAY はこだて before heading back to Sapporo in the evening. It’s located at Kanemori Red Brick Warehouse (金森赤レンガ倉庫) along the canal that connecting past and present of Hakodate.

I walked into Pâtisserie Petit Merveille because they offered me for a free tasting of cheesecake and the first bite was heaven, it melts in my mouth instantly. What’s more perfect than that? Apparently the texture and taste of Japanese cheesecake is very different.

img_0382

It comes in three flavour- pumpkin, caramel and original. I tried caramel and original’s, each little piece is around two bite sizes. My kind of perfect cheesecake. It’s smooth and creamy, dense but not heavy, modest and simple without any fancy toppings.

Time doesn’t allow me to explore every part of Kanemori Red Brick Warehouse because I have to catch the train back to Sapporo. There are mainly shops selling delicate glassware and imported goods. I bumped into Hakodate Factory where you can actually find huge selection of local produce from fresh seafood to beers to sweets.

The Author

Malaysian Interior Design/ Interior Architecture student

Leave a Reply

