Hitachi Seaside Park awash in blue

comment 1
landscape photography / Portrait Photography / Ready Set Go

Hitachi Seaside Park (国営ひたち海浜公園) is located at Ibaraki prefecture which takes about 2 to 3 hours from Tokyo by train. I decided to join the local tour to avoid from transferring train and buses but ended up taking double of the time to reach due to the heavy traffic on the highway during Golden week. I was told to avoid visiting Japan during the Golden week, but that’s when all the flowers bloomed!

In spite of that, I felt relieved to see a sea of blue. The field covered by thousand of Nemophila (baby blue eyes) joined forces to form a splendid vista. Nemophila and rapeseed appears ordinary but it stands out when thousands of them are in full bloom. It was truly like nothing I have seen before.

IMG_1416IMG_1417IMG_8921IMG_8913IMG_1418IMG_7638

I didn’t expect the park to be so huge and I was given two hours to explore the park because we are heading to another flower park after this. Even Nemophila hills takes me two hours to linger around. It’s more than just Nemophila during spring season. This park includes cycling trails and a small amusement park with a Ferris wheel.

I wish I could stay longer, I’ve never felt so alive.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The Whimsical Wisteria Tunnels at Ashikaga Flower Park. | joanne lai

Leave a Reply

